Society of Performing Arts Kota Kinabalu, Sabah (SPArKS) had our Biennial general meeting at IEC Sunny Garden on 27th March 2022.

President May Ng presided over the meeting which was attended hybrid mode by members including past presidents Cheong Kok Ann, Roger Wang and Charter President Datuk Adeline Leong.

Though it has been a challenging term for performing arts in general, we were encouraged to see the support that we managed to provide to artists through donations and events that helped support musicians and performing artists during this time, including Learn with Sparks, an online 5 week workshop event hosted and taught by the executive committee in Dec’20, WIPKK 7th edition held at the Alchemist Cafe in Sept’20 and The Room 記忘錄 online theatre by Pitapat Theatre, in May 2021 amongst others.

All current executive committee were unanimously elected in for the next term 2022-2024 and are optimistic about the future of performing arts as borders reopen and live performances may once again be staged. For more information and to keep up to date with SPArKS go to or follow us on IG/FB @sparksmalaysia

In photo, (L-R) Seated: Jasmine Leong (Vice President), May Ng, (President), Joanna Liew (Treasurer). Standing: Lenore Beverly Lee-Yong (Secretary), Moses De Silva (Committee Member), Jeremy Tan (Committee Member). Not in picture: Hazli Bojili (Committee Member)